22nd Eastern Gravity Meeting
Organized by the Department of Mathematics, Department of Physics, and CSCVR

Overview

The 22nd Eastern Gravity Meeting, hosted by UMass Dartmouth, will be held Friday, May 31 and Saturday, June 1, 2019 in North Dartmouth, MA. Further information, including registration, abstract submission, and recommended accommodations will be posted here shortly.

This annual regional meeting is open to researchers of all levels, from undergraduate students to faculty, in all areas of gravitational physics, including classical, quantum, theory, observation, and computation. The purpose of the conference is to encourage the interaction of researchers in the Northeastern region, although participants from all regions are welcomed.

The format of the meeting will follow the format of previous regional meetings where all participants may present a talk of approximately 10 to 15 minutes. Abstracts will be selected according to the order in which they are submitted. Therefore, to maximize chances of acceptance, it would be best to submit an abstract early. There is no registration fee. A prize for the best talk by a student will be given and so please indicate in your registration if you are a student.

Deadline for abstract submission and registration: May 20, 2019

Spacetime coordinates
When May 31, 2019 (Friday) - June 1, 2019 (Saturday)
Where UMass Dartmouth campus; See below

Please join us!

Keynote/Public talk by Rainer Weiss

The EGM is delighted to host Nobel laureate and professor emeritus at MIT, Rainer Weiss. Along with Kip Thorne and Barry Barish of the California Institute of Technology, he was awarded the Nobel Prize in Physics in 2017 "for decisive contributions to the LIGO detector and the observation of gravitational waves".

Details about this special event will be forthcoming.

Registration (COMING SOON)

For planning purposes we kindly request that all participants Register by May 20, 2019. An accurate headcount is important!

Abstract submission (COMING SOON)

All talks are contributed. Exact time slots will be determined shortly after May 20 once the total number of speakers is known.

Hotel: Discounted rates will be available (COMING SOON).


Venue and Parking

The conference will take place in the Charlton College of Business' conference room 149 on the UMassD campus. To get to campus, set your GPS to 285 Old Westport Road, North Dartmouth, MA. Please park in Lots 13 & 14 or on Ring Road.

Signs will be posted on campus directing you to the conference room.

Schedule
Schedule information will be posted a week before the meeting.

Sponsors
  • Support through generous contributions from



Organizing Committee

Scott Field (sfield - at - umassd.edu), Dana Fine (dfine - at - umassd.edu), Robert Fisher (robert.fisher - at - umassd.edu), Sigal Gottlieb (sgottlieb - at - umassd.edu), Gaurav Khanna (gkhanna - at - umassd.edu), Richard Price (rprice.physics - at - gmail.com)